Monday, December 28, 2015

Ever year, the Metro Manila Film Festival showcases Filipino movies for the whole family. Last night, the Awards Night was held at the Kia Theatre in Araneta Center and were in partnership with HOOQ, Asia’s largest video-on-demand service.

During the past years, I have been a follower of the MMFF Awards Night. So imagine my excitement when I was invited to watch this year's show, at the front row, to add. All thanks to HOOQ, as they are the exclusive presenter of the 41st Metro Manila Film Festival and its New Wave category.

With this partnership, they wanted to bring great movies and TV shows to entertainment buffs whenever and wherever - through streaming and downloading of award-winning and quality locally-produced films.

Since 2010, the New Wave category has given independent filmmakers the opportunity to showcase their work and the chance to have more funding for future film projects.  This year, aside from the animated and short film entries being shown in cinemas, they were also released through the HOOQ app. It was the first time in the history of MMFF that entries were shown simultaneously online and in theaters.

“We want the world to take notice of the best content Philippine cinema can offer,” said Jane Walker, HOOQ Philippines Country Manager.  “Supporting young filmmakers now is investing in the future of entertainment,” she added.

Here are the list of the New Wave Category Awards:

New Wave Short Film Jury Prize: Daisy
New Wave Short Film Best Picture: Mumu
New Wave Animation Best Picture: Buttons
New Wave Animation Special Jury Prize: Little Lights
New Wave Best Feature Film: Ari: My Life with a King
New Wave Special Jury Award : Toto
Manila Bulletin Best Feature Film: Ari: My Life with a King
New Wave Best Screenplay: Robby Tantingco for Ari
New Wave Best Supporting Actor: Thou Reyes for Toto
New Wave Best Supporting Actress: Bibeth Orteza for Toto
New Wave Best Director: John Paul Su fo Toto
New Wave Best Actor: Francisco Guinto for Ari and JM De Guzman for Tandem

Mr. Cesar Montano was awarded HOOQ Male Celebrity of the Night and Jennylyn Mercado as HOOQ Female Celebrity of the Night.

Metro Manila Film Festival Award Winners:

Best Festival Child Perfomer: Krystal Brimner for Honor Thy Father
Best Original Story: Walang Forever - Dan Villegas and Antoinette Jadaone
Best Festival Screenplay: Walang Forever - Paul Sta.Ana
Best Festival Director: Erik Matti for Honor Thy Father
Best Supporting Actor: Tirso Cruz III for Honor Thy Father
Best Supporting Actress: Maine Mendoza for My Bebe Love
Third Best Picture: My Bebe Love
Second Best Picture: Buy Now Die Later
Best Festival Picture: Walang Forever
Best Festival Actor: Jericho Rosales

Good news to HOOQ users! You will soon be able to watch other 2015 MMFF finalists and winners on HOOQ. Choose from close to a hundred past winners and finalists in its huge library of local films and TV shows, made available for streaming and download on multiple devices.

New users can enjoy a 30-day free trial by signing up at  Monthly subscription is available at only P149 and can be charged to your Globe mobile bill,  via credit card, or it comes free with Globe Home Broadband plans P1,299 and up.


Share your stories with me

Sugarsmile . 2017 Copyright. All rights reserved. Designed by Blogger Template | Free Blogger Templates